Uniting hearts, fulfilling dreams...

'Being a Celebrant gives me the opportunity to make a difference. I'm there at the most important moments of people's lives.  I get to turn their dreams into their reality. To be around love and inspiring futures. Who wouldn't want to do that?!' 

ABOUT ME

What am I?

Passionate Celebrant

Occasional childminder

Casual actor (mainly film & tv  including a few zombie moves!)

Traveller (pre & post restrictions)

Social poker player

Retired (reinvented Corporate Accountant)

Who am I?

Family orientated / Adaptable / Adventurous

Committed / Compassionate / Creative

Fun loving / Generous / Honest

Honourable / Imaginative / innovative

Kind / Loyal / Optimistic /  Passionate

Professional / Relaxed / Thoughtful / etc.

I have

Lovely husband since 1975 (roadie) 

Son / daughter / daughter in law 

Gorgeous grand daughter & son.
Elder sister, younger brother.

Husband's sister & her family
Wonderful in laws (DIL's family)

What do I enjoy?
Family time / anything wedding related / reading, watching TV & film (an eclectic mix of genres including: fantasy & scifi; crime; romance; comedy; action; etc) / trivia / games / acting / travelling / wildlife / abseiling (I’m fine with heights) / people / having a go at (almost) anything.

 

Where have I travelled?
Lived: Zambia (born); England; (boarding school); Uganda & Sarawak (school holidays);  England & Wales; Australia (Brisbane) since 1993

 

Visited:

England / Wales / Scotland / Republic of Ireland / Northern Ireland

France / Paris / Amsterdam / Brussels / Copenhagen / Spain / Portugal / Azores

Italy / Rome / Milan / Florence / Venice

Vancouver / Rockies / Whistler / Alaska

New York / LA / San Francisco / Miami / Orlando / Caribbean

Hawaii / Tahiti / Papeete / Bora Bora

Dubai  / Singapore / Sarawak / Hong Kong / China / India / Ceylon

Chile / Argentina / Brazil / Peru

Zimbabwe / Kenya / Tanzania / South Africa / Swaziland

Queensland / Cairns / NSW / Sydney / Woolongong / Newcastle / Melbourne / Philip Island / Adelaide / Kangaroo Island / Canberra, Darwin / Perth / Rottnest Island / Tasmania / Launceston / Hobart / 

Iguazu Falls / Victoria Falls.


Potted History

On a A Wed 1949 Parents (Architect & Teacher (English, French, Music)) met (Salisbury, Zimbabwe) engaged that Saturday.

1950 Sister, 1953 me, born in Lusaka, Zambia. 1958 brother in a small township (Kasama).

1963 Sister & I to boarding school in UK.

1963 to 71 Travelled home to Zambia then Uganda 1 or 2 times a year. Parents on "long leave" in UK every 2 to 3 years, renting the same fabulous Elizabethan cottage on a private estate (East Sussex).
1971 (10 months) Worked 10 months as a clerk in the heart of London.
1972 First week of Uni met my (Welsh) husband to be (didn't get together for another 2 years).

1975 Engaged 1 month after we started dating.
1975 Married 6 months after graduating (Computer Science/Statistics) in a small registry office wedding. Parents still overseas (hubby didn't meet his in laws until we had been married 18 months).

1976 After a couple of temporary clerical roles I became a trainee Accountant in Newport (Wales). 

1977 Moved from Wales to Berkshire (UK)

1980 became Financial Controller in retail food company (stayed 13 years until moving to Australia)
1984 Son, David, born

1986 Moved to Bristol (UK) 
1988 Daughter, Lynn, born.
1993 Landed at Brisbane Airport. 2 kids, no jobs. All our wordly goods on a ship from UK..
1993 Temp Corporate Accountant at Collins Foods (Sizzlers/KFC)

1994 to 2012 Corporate Accountant for a Building Industry Cost Consultants company (retired 19 years later)

1994 to 2000 On the School Care and local guide committees

2000 Fell into acting in 2000. Loved it as something I was born to do. First role, featured extra in a Zombie Movie (tfollowed by more zombie roles). Completed Cert IV in Film and TV Acting (The Actors Workshop). Have a wide ranging and diverse portfolio of work. Look for my pic on the side of your BCC garden waste disposal truck.

I don't know where the idea of becoming a Celebrant came from, but from the first minute I knew this was something I was truly meant to do.
Collected Cert IVs in Training & Assessment & Real Estate (worked casual/temp admin for son's MIL's Real Estate business 

2007 Finally persuaded husband to go on a cruise. He bacame a cruisaholic. Bbeen on nearly 40 cruises since then.

After retirement we ramped up our travelling and have been to many wonderful places. 
I enjoy networking belonging to some wonderful groups. Bbeen part of the Salvo's Drive for Life initiative. Mentor for student, helping achieve her necessary 100 hours driving..
Mentored two new Celebrants.

Help out whenever I can

Me & Phil 975 

Our son & daughter in law 2013

My Parents Gwyn & Guy 1949   

My Sister 1971

Phil's Parents Len & Muriel 1949

Phil's Sister 1975

BRISBANE  &  SURROUNDS 

GOLD COAST   SUNSHINE COAST

INTERSTATE & OTHER LOCATIONS BY ARRANGEMENT

 

© 2015 Website by O2 creative